Confluence has some great collaboration features. Let's try some of them out.
Most of these features are available to all users.
You can like pages, blog posts and comments just as in your favourite social networking sites. Show people you care, run crazy 'can we get to 100 likes' challenges, how you use it is up to you!
You can add comments to pages and blog posts. This is a great way to get people communicating. The full editor is available in the comments field, so you can use bullets, add images, tables - if you can do it in a page, you can more than likely do it in a comment.
Let's add a comment to the meeting notes page you created earlier.
Comments are also threaded, so you can make your comment a direct reply to another comment. The Quote style in the editor also allows you to indicate where you are quoting another user.
Want a way to know when someone edits or comments on a page? You can watch it. This is a great way to monitor fast moving information.
Let's watch the meeting notes page you created earlier.
You will receive notifications by email and in your workbox when the page is edited or a comment is added. The workbox is located on the toolbar and shows all your recent notifications and tasks. You can customise how you want to be notified in your profile settings.
By default you will automatically be set to watch all pages you create. To stop watching, choose the Watch button and deselect Watch page.
Watching is particularly great for Blogs. You can choose to watch all blogs in a space, and even build an RSS feed to use in your favourite RSS reader.
First you could share the page with the user. To share a page:
The user will receive an email and a notification in their workbox.
Another way to notify a user about a page or blog post is to mention them on the page or in a comment.
The user will be notified in their workbox and by email.
Some blueprints use mentions out of the box. For example when you enter a stakeholder in the decision blueprint they are automatically added to the page as a @Mention and notified.
Want to get really tricky? Mention someone in a task, and that task will automatically be added to their task list in the workbox.
Sharing is wonderful, but sometimes you may want to make a page only visible to some users, or only visible to you. In other instances you may want to users to view and comment on, but not edit a page.
In this example you will restrict editing of the homepage in your project space to members of the 'project-team' group.
You can only apply restrictions to your own pages, unless you have 'Restrict Page' permissions in that space.
A padlock icon appears on the page to indicate that the page has restrictions.
You can also access the restrictions from a button in the editor and from the padlock icon.